Blue Christmas, Depression and Overcoming that mess!

Posted: December 17, 2013 in Uncategorized

1Peter 5:6-7
Humble yourselves, therefore, under God’s mighty hand, that He may lift you up in due time. Cast all your anxiety on Him because He cares for you.

The holiday season has many positive aspects such as getting together with family, friends and celebrating our Saviors birth as well as the coming year. It also can hit our emotions hard so today we looking at dealing with one of the Devil’s “D’s”. Depression is a common, serious illness and does’nt indicate a person is weak. Depression can happen to anyone, at any age, and to people of any race or ethnic group. Depression can come from many factors including chemical imbalances in the brain, hormonal changes, medications or things going on in your life.

Depression, by definition is described as feeling sad, blue, unhappy, miserable, or down in the dumps for a short period of time. Clinical depression is a mood disorder in which feelings of sadness, loss, anger, or frustration interfere with everyday life for a longer period of time. It can include thoughts of suicide, feeling inadequate and/or being withdrawn from social interaction with others. Depression is so serious it requires medical, psychological assistance as well as Holy Ghost tactics! Today we are going to turn back to our creator’s official handbook on how to not only deal with this issue but also give you the tools to fix and get victory over them blues (regardless what time of year it is)!

* Bible heroes like David had discouragements like us. Check it:

Psalm 6:6 & 7 “I am weary with my groaning; All night I make my bed swim;
I drench my couch with my tears.”

Psalm 40:12 “For innumerable evils have surrounded me; My iniquities have overtaken me, so that I am not able to look up; They are more than the hairs of my head; Therefore my heart fails me.” (Also read Psalm 88)

In overcoming his depression David left us these gems:

a) God does not abandon us when times are rough (see Psalm 16:8 and Psalm 139:7-17)
b) Trust and Faith in God leads us to actually celebrate when down (see Psalm Psalm 5:11 and Psalm 28:7,8)
c) While He is not the always the source of our trials and trouble, God uses our drama to bring us closer to Him and to connect in prayer (see Psalm 119:67, 71 and Psalm 62:8)
d) Life can be crazy and wild however, God is still the king of the Jungle (see Psalm 118:6-17)

* Praise and giving Thanks is vital to victory over depression (see Psalm 118:1 and 113:3 and 71:1-24)
Psalm 59:16,17
“But I will sing of Your power;
Yes, I will sing aloud of Your mercy in the morning;
For You have been my defense
And refuge in the day of my trouble.
To You, O my Strength, I will sing praises;
For God is my defense,
My God of mercy.”

* The great God of the universe waits on our call to Him in prayer. He looks forward to delivering us from our depression (see Psalm 61:2 and Psalm 60:4) it’s what He does…
Psalm 56:3,8,11
“Whenever I am afraid, I will trust in You.
You number my wanderings;
Put my tears into Your bottle;
Are they not in Your book?
In God I have put my trust;
I will not be afraid.
What can man do to me?”

* Personal dirt leads to feelings of guilt. If sin has you there God’s word tells us to:
1) Confess your guilt to God
Psalm 38:17,18
“For I am ready to fall,
And my sorrow is continually before me.
For I will declare my iniquity;
I will be in anguish over my sin.”

2) Accept His forgiveness
1John 1:9
“If we confess our sins, He is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.”
Come on now…we all got dirt. If we say we have no sin then we so full of it (see 1John 1:10)!

* No, really.. God forgives you. No business! Sometimes in our low moments we don’t truly accept or believe it. Read Psalm 51 and then meditate or think on you being a warmly loved child of God. By faith make it real… because it is.

1Timothy 2:3-6
“For this is good and acceptable in the sight of God our Savior,
who desires all men to be saved and to come to the knowledge of the truth.
For there is one God and one Mediator between God and men, the Man Christ Jesus,
who gave Himself a ransom for all, to be testified in due time”

* Bible hero Elijah, after the victory at Mt. Carmel was so bummed out that he wanted to die. Exhausted from the days stress, threats from Jezebel and starving he gave into thoughts of doom and gloom (see 1Kings 19:1-4). God’s prescription was a hot meal, a good nights sleep and encouraging words (see 1Kings 19:5-13).

* Bible hero Paul, while in Roman jail used the following tactics to overcome depression:
1) Recognize that ultimately God is in charge (see Phil. 1:12)
2) Magnify Jesus (see Phil. 1:20) in all you do
3) Give thanks and praise throughout the trial (see Phil. 4:6)
4) Rejoice in your trial in direct defiance of the enemy (see Phil. 4:4)
5) Recognize God is bigger than our drama & He will supply all our needs (Phil. 4:13,19)

Whatever it is that Satan has thrown your way.. God is bigger! If we use His tools we shall overcome. New thought, new approach, new direction will yield a new day. Give Jesus a chance and then sit back and watch the stormy clouds part and His glorious light shine upon you.
Merry CHRISTmas to you and may you have a joy filled, depression free and prosperous 2014!
~Pastor Pete (connect by email: HeadzUpFellowship@Gmail.com)

Leave a Reply

